Exit Stage Left: Interview Strategies, Tactics and/or Lessons Learned


A guy I know, George Hofmann, who favors going into an interview with a resume and story-line full of skills and accomplishments that are, let’s say, more than your garden variety “enhancements”. I’ll use George’s real name here because he’s after the same opportunities as I am and he needs to go down.

I know times are hard and a lot of people are looking for a job, along with other people staring a layoff in the face, so most people will fudge things up a bit. That’s only natural unless you have a PhD from Harvard, you swallow or you’re a rock star like George. So far, I’m 0 for 3.

Yeah, sure, I might state that I know “Widget” software when I really don’t. But I make it a point to learn it before I step into someone’s office. Plus, I’m not going to check off “expert level”. George would. Then he would somehow wiggle his way out of testing out on it. If you ask George, he’d tell you he helped end hunger in Ethiopia and co-wrote Stairway to Heaven.

Categories: Career Enhancement | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

